Samuel Cho (geb. 1996) ist ein Malaysischer Pianist–Komponist. Er steht am Beginn seine Karriere, schon jetzt sind seine Kompositionen in London, Bucharest und New York von Künstlern wie William Howard, Cornelia Petroiu und Brooklyn Youth's Chorus aufgeführt wurden.

 

 

Bekannt für seine "souveräne Technik und Ausdruck" (HNA), Samuel spielt regelmäßig als Solist in innovativen Konzertformaten wie Schwarzlichttheater und auch Gedichtlesungen. Als Kammermusik ist er ebenso aktiv. Die Musik der 20. und 21. Jahrhundert hält in seinem Repertoire einen Besonderen platz. 

 

Mit 9 Jahren kam er zum ersten Mal in Kontakt mit dem schwarz-weißen Tastatur des Klaviers, als ihm seine Mutter ein defektives Keyboard vom Supermarkt kaufte. Nachdem er mit 11 Jahren Klavierunterricht bekam, machte er in kurzer Zeit Fortschritt und gewann mehrere Preise wie 1. Preis im 1. Kawai Klavier Wettbewerb in Malaysien, 1. Preis in der Ensemble Kategorie im 7. Jugend Musik Festival Kuala Lumpur und den Exzellenzpreis für sein Trinity Diplom Rezital. Zu der gleichen Zeit fing er an, Stücke für sein Schulensemble zu bearbeiten, um seine Ausbildung zu finanzieren. Auch für verschiedene Schulproduktionen von Musicals bearbeitete er Musik und war teilweise als Musikleiter und Musiker tätig. 

 

2014 kam er nach Deutschland und begann seine Ausbildung an der Musikakademie der Stadt Kassel. Seitdem gewann er Preise in Wettbewerben wie dem Peredur Kammermusik Wettbewerb und dem International Love Songs Komposition Wettbewerb unter anderem. In der kulturell diversen Umgebung von Brunei Darussalam geboren und gewachsen, seine multikulturelle Identität ist ihm eine Quelle Inspiration und Perspektive. Seine Einflüsse sind vielfältig und dramatisch kontrastierend. 

 

 

Samuel studiert Klavier unter Michael Kravtchin und Komposition unter Frank Gerhardt an der Musikakademie der Stadt Kassel.

Samuel Cho (b. 1996) is a Malaysian pianist-composer based in Kassel, Germany. Although only at the beginning of his career, his compositions have been performed in London, Bucharest and New York by artists such as William Howard, Cornelia Petroiu as well as the Brooklyn Youth's Chorus. 

 

Known for his "sovereign technique and expression" (HNA), Samuel performs regularly as a soloist in innovative recital formats, among which include performances with black light theatre and with poetry readings. He is also active as a chamber musician. Music of the 20th and 21st century hold a special place in his repertoire.

 

He first came into contact with the black and white keys of the piano at the age of 9, when his mother bought a defective keyboard from the supermarket. After beginning proper lessons at the age of 11, he quickly progressed and went on to win various awards such as 1st place in the 1st Kawai Piano Competition in Malaysia, 1st place in the Ensemble Category in the 7th Kuala Lumpur Youth Music Festival as well as an excellence award for his Trinity Diploma Recital in Brunei. At around the same time, he began to arrange pieces for his school's ensemble as a way to finance his studies. He has also arranged music for various high school productions of broadway musicals and appeared as both performer and technician in various settings.

 

 

In 2014, he moved to Germany and, after acquiring the language, began his studies at the Musikakademie in Kassel, where he went on to win awards such as in the Peredur Chamber Music Competition and the International Love Songs Composition Competition among others. Born and raised in the culturally diverse atmosphere of Brunei Darussalam and yet holding a Malaysian citizenship, his cross-culture identity is a source of steady inspiration and perspective. His influences are varied and traverse a dramatically contrasting palette of genres. 

 

 

Samuel is currently pursuing a Bachelors in Music, studying piano under Michael Kravtchin and composition under Frank Gerhardt.